Labyrinth Pics

earthday09-22_wp

Here are some photos from Sunday’s beach labyrinth. I have run out of time trying to join two photos together to get the whole piece in – but  you will get the general idea.

earthday09-127_wp

earthday09-474_wp

earthday09-643_wp

earthday09-621_wp

earthday09-140_wp

earthday09-343_wp

It didn’t quite go as I had expected – but things very rarely do round here! For one thing, I had to move down to the other end of the beach near Westward Ho! and hurriedly notify as many people as possible. This was because of a beach kite festival taking place around my original site.  If I hadn’t been making the labyrinth, I would certainly have been there, watching the fabulous rainbow kites.

 The rain just about held off, and we had some good sunshine later in the day. It was strange how people seemed to come and go with the appearance and disappearance of the sun –   long periods when there were very few, then suddenly quite a crowd. We all enjoyed ourselves hugely, and I got some lovely feedback…

About throughstones

I am primarily an environmental artist, living on the North Devon coast, a still beautiful, semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in the eternal movement and cycles of life, and in full engagement with place - particularly as it relates to what we call 'nature' or 'the natural environment'. It is a way of making myself at home in the world.
This entry was posted in Art, beach and coast, Earth, labyrinths, nature, stone and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Labyrinth Pics

  1. paula says:

    Love it, I do. Did you find that all kinds of people came to walk it or were they too shy?

    Have you seen my friend Marcus’s tidal bell at Appledore?

    Like

    • Thanks Paula! People were not shy at all, and I’d love to do more of this sort of thing. It was not without incident – including one rather offensive old chap who accused me of destroying the pebble beach… but this is part of the challenge of working in public. I saw the Bell when it was installed at the Appledore Festival year before last – but did not realise it was still there. Must have a look!

      Like

  2. flandrumhill says:

    The serenity of your labyrinth comes across in the photos. It’s clearly there but not ‘in your face.’ Remarkable but not intrusive. I’ve always believed that the best art engages people of all ages and cultures. This would definitely be in that category. Just wonderful!

    Like

  3. Linda, your photos are able to bring really close to almost being there. Thank you for that!
    It looks so senseful and fun and serene all at the same time.
    Sustainable art to the max.
    Thank you for posting all those beautiful photos.
    What a celebration of the earth our history and our future.
    Pamela

    Like

    • “Sustainable Art to the Max” – I like that!! I could almost make it my motto! Thank YOU, Pamela, for your lovely comments, and yes, it was fun and serene both at the same time. There were one or two challenging moments, but they didn’t seem to touch me. Strangely enough I feel the whole thing has marked a changing point in my life. I hope, other people’s too.

      Like

Comments are closed.