The Sea Lady

At the Appledore Book Festival last night, Margaret Drabble gave us an  intriguing insight into her new novel ‘The Sea Lady’. As well as readings, she told us a little of how the book came into being – including a memorable research trip to the Aquarium at Ilfracombe (less than an hour’s drive from here). Margaret Drabble is a fascinating, entertaining and informative speaker. She made us laugh a lot,  and for me, opened up new worlds that I had never seriously considered. Marine biology, and all things fishy, for instance. Not only this, but her perceptiveness about human relationships, and the way our lives intertwine over long periods of time, left me bursting with curiosity. Can’t wait to read it! http://redmood.com/drabble/sealady.html

I have just joined a local group who meet every week for talks and trips around the North Devon coastline. Today we heard from the Project Officer of the North Devon aonb (area of outstanding natural beauty), and I was interested to learn that aonb’s have their focus firmly upon the landscape – without necessarily having to justify it in social terms. That’s interesting for me, because as an artist who usually works in everyday life, I am often complaining about being expected to fit into this or that social agenda. You know the sort of thing: that whole issue about ‘compromising one’s vision’ or ‘selling one’s soul for cash, or approval…  or some worthy cause or other’!  But… one has to earn a living. Anyone got any ideas on this one? (Preferably by commenting below, rather than phone or email).

It was interesting for me to learn a little bit more about the sea world, as well as this fabulous landscape. And I was amazed to hear the aquarium at Ilfracombe mentioned for the second time in less than two days.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, landscape, North Devon, sea and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.