Do I really care?

Sitting here – nearly midnight – I realise that lately, this blog might be becoming just a list of interesting and worthwhile environmental events. OK – fine.

But do I really care about all this? Let’s face it, I spend the greater part of my time preoccupied with work and family matters, and what I grandiosely call ‘my evolution’.

Well… I care enough to pass on news of events that grab my attention and seem important to me. I care enough to travel out to conferences, talks and exhibitions in order to keep myself  informed about ecological matters. And I care enough to keep coming back to my personal truth, even when I have gone wildly off track. Which is why I am writing this.

OK – that’s all very fine and admirable. But do I care about the badger and the red squirrel. Do I really care?

Yes, of course I do.

Yes, but how much do I care- after all, in the face of global warming, we are set to lose plenty of species, world-wide. No question.

So what am I supposed to do about it – write a long list of endangered species?

That might not be a bad idea: Tigers, elephants, whales, gorillas….

Was this what I set out to do in this blog? No, it was not. I am an artist. Somebody else can write lists. This blog was meant to uncover and share what makes me tick as an artist. So here we go, once again:

tfirstfewdays-136-_w.jpgA multitude of local and domestic events this year have taken most of my attention and caused me to withdraw a little from the wider spheres of life. Here’s the main cause of it all. This little chap is the latest addition to my family. I promise sincerely that this is the last baby photo of him that I will ever post here. Honest!

Can’t make any promises about environmental angst and worthy causes though. You will still probably get a bit of that…. Plus even more angst about my work, and failed art projects, and and … all the rest of it.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Artists, climate change, ecology, environment, nature, wildlife, animals and birds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.