Night Work

Up until 4 am last night, getting an international art proposal together, to send out by email. Unfortunately, I’d had a brainwave just as I was going to bed, so felt I had to follow it through. Bummer. These flashes of inspiration come at the most inconvenient times (like babies). Stumbling around the house, getting the working-drawing done, then photographing it, trying not to waken others in the house, tripping over cats curled in every dark corner… and I never knew that eating Japanese rice crackers could make so much noise late at night. Tried to clean my teeth silently.

4 am, and no matter how much I squinted and swore at the screen, I could not get the emails sent. Eventually realised this was because the organiser’s Inbox would have been full… with applications from other people, who, like me,had left it all until the very last minute before the deadline. Crawled out of bed at 8, to try again – not disturbing the ginger cat buried in the duvet. Got them sent. Got a reply from the organiser. So I can relax now. Maybe go back to bed.  But first I have to get the cats’ breakfasts.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.