Hartland

Coming home from the funeral of a long-time and special friend, I stop by at the great stone church at Hartland Quay.  It is a day of storms, straight off the Atlantic – the rain torrential, wind savage.

I do not switch on the lights. Inside, it grows ever darker as wind and rain batter the outside of the building, making strange clattering and banging noises that keep me on high alert. I feel like a ghost, and can find no peace.

Standing on the cliffs, sunlight comes through for a few moments, as I say farewell. Hartland Quay

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in landscape, place, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.