Earth Hour 2008

 Earth Hour is due in less than 3 hours here in UK, (between 8 and 9pm GMT), and I have still not made up  my mind whether or not to take part in this hour of ‘Lights Off’.

I have read all the stuff, watched the propaganda, worried about power surges, global warming, the rain forests, population, warfare over oil and other resources…  and I don’t like it. Most of all, I dont like the way this event has been appropriated by those very organisations who are most responsible for causing all the trouble.

Maybe I am wrong, but I think the intention behind this event would have been to provide an hour’s space to sit quietly in the darkness, thinking about the earth and what we can do to look after it  – not to provide a publicity opportunity for multi-national companies, and a ‘feel-good’ bit of entertainment for the rest of us.

Last year, I spent most of the hour of darkness desperately trying to light a candle with damp matches, and crawling about  under the table, giggling, looking for my baked potato that had fallen on the floor. All rather silly, but… when the lights came on again, I  felt a huge new appreciation for the light and power I normally take for granted.

Still thinking about it.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in climate change, Earth, environment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Earth Hour 2008

  1. No – in the end I didn’t – but I thought about it a lot! Maybe for me that was the best thing. I agree, spending an hour sitting in quiet darkness
    would certainly be a worthwhile thing to do at other times too.

    Like

  2. redstarcafe says:

    I hope you did have an hour of peace. It’s something worth doing more often than once a year. Remember when we used to have a Day of Rest?

    Like you, I spent some of that time fidgeting to get candles lit with matches that weren’t working because they had been sitting around for ages. I expect the pioneers took much better care of their valuable fire-making equipment.

    It was a special treat to see the stars again, something we have not been able to do with all the light pollution of the big city, since we had a power outage in eastern Canada in 2003.

    http://redstarcafe.wordpress.com/2008/03/27/the-northeast-blackout-of-2003/

    Like

Comments are closed.