Earth Dreaming – preparation

How did I spend last Sunday? Crawling around the car park, in the sun, trying to join large pieces of carpet with tape that refused to stay down… I was working with the underside on top, where I planned to draw the guide lines for the ‘Earth Dreaming’ design. I just could not get the pieces to lie neatly and flat. Every time I looked behind me, I found long strips of tape were lifting and curling in the sun as fast as I was sticking them down. Carpet pieces continually shifted way out of alignment – completely ruining what little bit of geometry I had started with. I struggled, desperately trying to hold down a taped piece whilst lying flat on my stomach and reaching out to tape a different section.

cat dreamingIt was some time before I realised it was the dense, heavy layer of carpet fibres underneath that kept making the pieces shift about – like thousands of little collapsible caterpillar legs. Every time I shifted my position, the carpet shifted too. What a nightmare! After trying endlessly to join pieces and start drawing out my design, I gave up, heaved the carpet back into the car, and set off for the D-I-Y shop and some strong carpet tape…

And a stroll by the low-tide river and a West Country ice-cream by Fremington Quay.

Back home: shifting trays of stones around in the sun, trying to get them dry – only three more bags to get washed now… my finger joints, sprained from awkwardly lifting trays and bags of stones, are feeling a bit better today. Rewash one large tray full, that the cat has pee’d in (that’s the one whose name begins with ‘H’, and who converses with flies and seagulls and who has killed off most of our best garden plants).

Upstairs to the office, type and lay out more sheets of images and information, all ready for the printer’s tomorrow.

And what about today, Sunday again? Responded to emails, prepared sheets of information and images for three different projects that are now upon me, sorted out some 2D work for exhibition, experimented with paint colours for my next installation, repainted a piece from last year that is to be re-exhibited … and tried once again to plan out my design on the carpet for ‘Earth Dreaming’… with difficulty…

cat helping

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, Exhibitions, North Devon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.