Drive to Dartmoor

Drove out to Dartmoor to visit Aune Head Arts. It was good bowling along in my little car – roads empty and quiet, skies clear. For mile after mile, I tunnelled through great overarching trees covering dark crags on either side. The narrow road wound and twisted, climbed and dropped in endless convolutions. I opened the window wide, and breathed cool air, and the calm presence of trees.

Winding around fields, hedges and rocky crags, with occasional sweeping views of green fertile land, I came up into High Dartmoor. I slowed down, as I drove into chilling cloud. Soon everywhere was grey. From time to time, faint headlights of approaching cars appeared in the distance, then were gone. Granite stacks and stunted trees appeared and disappeared, like wraiths in the grey cloud.

Then the sun broke through, revealing blue skies and brightness swirling around the massive physicality of stone and earth.

High up, open and exhilarated, I stand on soft green grass A million raindrops are sparkling at my feet. Around me are heather moors, granite, gorse, and sheep all over the road.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, nature, place and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.