London Exhibition

Here are a few pictures from the exhibition. It was exciting for me to spend time with such a variety of artists and designers, and see their different approaches to landscape. This sort of stimulation is essential for artists. It is all too easy to become isolated in one’s practice, which, I suppose, is one of the reasons why many of us gather in cities and   studio complexes.
I must say, having worked and lived for large chunks of my life in London and its surrounding Southeast region, but now living many miles away, I found my few days’ visit and the long journey from Devon utterly exhausting.
Thursday, with a few hours to spare, and trailing a suitcase full of clothes and equipment, I crossed Charing Cross Bridge, and strolled along the South Bank. I took photos of St Paul’s Cathedral gleaming in the sunshine across the river, just like any other tourist. I sat under the trees, throwing down bits of my lunch to the pigeons at my feet as I idly watched the endless movement of river boats passing to and fro. All the time, a couple of jarring, noisy helicopters hovered overhead, adding a surreal ‘Big Brother’ touch to this timeless London scene.

I was glad to get home to the clean Devon air, and the fresh breeze over the estuary.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Artists, Exhibitions, landscape and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.