Finding the Place

I have been looking for a place to set out a pebble labyrinth. One look at my category cloud will tell you that the concept of ‘local’ is important to me, both in daily life and in my art practice. It is all about integrating within my immediate surroundings, and becoming just a part of the movement.

salt marsh, looking across to Appledore

salt marsh, looking across to Appledore

too rough

too rough

That’s why, a couple of days ago, I went trotting off to Northam Burrows (called the Burrows because of the number of rabbits living there). It was a bright winters day, a strong wind making it bitterly cold.

maybe here...

maybe here...

or here...

or here...

I cursed the length of time it took to get dressed up warm, find all my bits of equipment, and get out, but once out, I relaxed. I squinted up into the bright, clear air, as a flock of dazzling birds drifted by. Down at my feet in the muddy grass was a cluster of white feathers from a recent kill – all around, light was glinting in water and a million blades of wet grass. Blasts of wind coming off the sea made my face ache.

too unstable

too unstable

too waterlogged
too waterlogged

Yesterday was filthy weather – darkness and heavy rain, so I stayed indoors all day. But today was brilliant – sunshine, quiet, no wind. Perfect photography weather, though I took no tripod – I hate carrying those things around.

 
too congested
too congested
yes! here!

yes! here!

Found it! Now to start planning… but when to do the job? Tomorrow, I am going on a birding trip, and who knows when tide and weather and circumstances will be just right again. I will check the tide tables, check the weather forecast, consult my assorted labyrinth diagrams and search out my favourite ball of string that I use for measuring….

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, local, nature, North Devon, place and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding the Place

  1. These are a wonderful series of photos. They show the beauty of your region very well. The labyrinth is a great way to help still the mind and transcend the ongoing attachments and viruses of the mind. It leads to a practice of walking through life and treating all energy as being equal. But if something does pull us strong enough in a positive situation, then we can enter the bias mode to investigate the gravitational pull. If we like it we can explore it more, but knowing where the exit point is at all moments. Then, when we learn the lesson at hand and integrate the energy needed for our next adventure, we transcend this loop too. Then, of course, there is the option of not nibbling or biting into any loops at all, always being the Witness to the illusions around us.

    Like

    • yes- it is indeed a beautiful part of the world. Most of my work seems to be made with the aim of stilling the mind, and I think there is profound wisdom in simple traditional land drawings, such as the labyrinth. Don’t quite understand what you mean by the bias mode and the gravitational pull – though I certainly get myself tangled up in plenty of life’s loops! I suppose the thing is to realise that it is all just a ‘play’.

      Like

Comments are closed.