Back to the Burrows

This is what the Burrows looked like today. Looks quite tranquil, but I can tell you, it was bitterly cold, with a ferocious gale blowing.
 burrowslaby-8_w

 
I managed to find shelter in a hollow among the stones, before braving the full blast of the Atlantic wind on the open beach. 
burrowslaby-19_w

 I tried to measure out a labyrinth site, but got tangled up in my cord, lashing fiercely around my legs. A couple of dog walkers pretended not to notice me. I am an artist, I wanted to shout out to  them, but  the words couldn’t get out of my mouth.
golf_w

They are playing golf out there. They must be mad!

 I have admitted temporary defeat. It is far too cold. Also, I found out yesterday that to make a classical 7-ring labyrinth would take about 3 tons of stone…. I think my slaves (family) might be a little rebellious.

burrowslaby-20_w

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Artists, beach and coast, Devon, local, nature, North Devon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the Burrows

  1. ellisonbaypottery says:

    It’s pretty warm here in NE Wisconsin, and this shot of the water reminds me of Lake Superior in so many ways, maybe the different shapes and colors of the stones. I love stones, and this photo is very moving to me. Great site, too.

    Like

    • thanks so much – the weather is certainly very prominent in my mind – but then, I am British! Weather always a good topic of conversation. I love stones too – and love seeing and hearing about people’s different landscapes. Strange how our surroundings become a part of ourselves.

      Like

Comments are closed.