Sky Stones

Now I have a filthy cold. Can’t understand it. With Christmas looming on the horizon and nothing done, and a piece of work to make for early January- not to mention numerous other deadlines – here I am, flopping about the house with barely the strength to lift my ‘medicinal’ drink.

Here’s my proposal for my next piece of work. It’s for the North Devon Art Show at the Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon. I told everyone it would be  ready in time – but didn’t mention that I haven’t exactly started it yet….

Fragments of laserprint, derived from my photos of local skies are sealed on to small pieces of local stone from the beach. These are assembled into a circle, approx. 1.5 – 1.75 metres dia., for wall display.

Each fragment carries a prayer/ a wish/ a hope for peace on earth, and at the end of the exhibition, I will reassemble the work on the beach near where the stones came from.  Here it may be taken by passers-by, or get washed out to sea. 03_skystones-11_w
I will let you know how it all works out.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Art, Devon, Exhibitions, landscape, local, North Devon, sky, spirituality/ peace, stone and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sky Stones

  1. William Shaw says:

    Thanks for dropping in on the blog, Linda. Good luck with this one.

    Like

  2. Hi Linda: thanks for dropping by: I am so glad you did or I would never have got to see your fantastic work. Do you know of Rosalie Gascoigne? The floating signs reminded me of her…..

    Like

  3. Pebs says:

    I meant see it ! Ach too early

    Like

  4. Pebs says:

    Sounds great Linda, I wish it was closer to home so we could we it

    Like

Comments are closed.