CONNECT (Skystones pics)

skystonesbatch2-011_wpview of Skystones from top of tall ladder – circle 1.8m dia.

Just to show that I am back to stay – here are some pics of my current work, showing at the Museum of North Devon. It is called ‘Skystones’. Yes, my strained wrists and back are better now, thanks – and fingernails starting to grow back again, after prolonged tearing of paper around stone edges…

skystonesbatch2-274_wp

skystonesbatch2-219_wp

On the side of the plinth is embossed the name of the manufacturer: CONNECT. This basically, says it all: discreetly underscoring the whole purpose of the piece, which is to make the connection between Earth and Sky. (Whatever that means!) I would like to say I planned all this through sheer artistic brilliance, but in fact, I made a lot of mess trying to cover up the name with soggy tape and paint, before eventually deciding to accept it as one of those Significant Moments .

skystonesbatch2-391_wp

It is local stone slabs, sealed with laserprint collage of my recent sky photos. The stones are of uneven heights, rising towards the middle, giving a sense of unstable and shifting energy.

PS: As always, this piece has evolved quite a lot from my original proposal. (See my earlier Skystones posts – no. 1, 2 and 3.)

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Art, Exhibitions, local, Sculpture and installation, sky, stone and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to CONNECT (Skystones pics)

  1. Lovely: especially the gulls, and as I have always said, when something doesn’t go quite as you would wish in a bit of art – make a feature of it!

    Like

  2. Thanks very much Pamela and redstarcafe – it is so good to be received, and makes it all worthwhile. Thanks also, redstarcafe for the fascinating link – now I cannot stop thinking about the Grail legends..

    Like

  3. Panela Robertson-Pearce says:

    Beautiful! Gorgeous installation shots and an absolutely spectacular piece! Congratulations!
    Wish I could see it in person. P

    Like

  4. redstarcafe says:

    Linda, it’s a stunning installation. Each piece might be a lapis ex coelis, if you follow Parsifal and the Grail.

    http://www.mystae.com/restricted/streams/gnosis/wolfram.html

    Like

Comments are closed.