Tread Softly

I woke up this morning and found the world outside covered with a blanket of snow several inches thick. Very unusual for this region. Naturally, I had to go out and play. Quickly, very carefully I placed some spare skystones in a meandering line down the garden path. As the sun came through I noticed the stones slowly sinking, and a dark wavy line appearing along the edges of the path where the snow was melting.

snowandstones

In tune with the processes of nature, I thought of my friend, Tam, a fne artist and sailor, who had recently sent me a small card derived from one of her etchings, which had been inspired by tide fluctuations at a specific spot on the Sussex coast. It was a design of wave patterns in overlapping peaks and troughs. As my friend put it:  “There is much to find out about the variety of forms which result from each different site. It is something to do with one complicated system (tides as caued by the attractive force of   the moon varying as the moon rotates round the earth) and all sorts of specific interferences made by any given site.”

snowandstones-detail

And myself, I am revelling in the experience of endlessly shifting waves and rhythms.  As the snow melted and the stones sank, I knew I had to be pretty speedy with taking my photos.

(To find out more about  ‘skystones’ see my recent posts –  the final one, showing my stone installation still on exhibition,  is called Connect).

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Art, Environmental Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tread Softly

  1. Pamela Robertson-Pearce says:

    Forget about skipping down the Yellow Brick Road when you can walk down the Sky Path!

    Like

  2. flandrumhill says:

    No need for the sky stone explanation. Just found your post on them.

    Like

  3. flandrumhill says:

    How very, very beautiful. Could you explain a bit as to what ‘sky stones’ are?

    Like

Comments are closed.