Skern Birdwatching

A gentle hazy morning, birding with the Devon Bird Watching & Preservation Society (DBWPS).  A soft blue sky, the sound of skylark and curlew and  the rhythm of surf breaking  just over the pebble ridge. Time to relax. After so much cold and dismal weather, it was good to feel the sun’s warmth.

We were a quiet group of around 25 people, most armed with serious-looking telescopes. Someone very kindly let me take a look through his, and once again I was staggered by the sheer variety and abundance of bird-life  along the water’s edge – a lot of which was invisible to the naked eye. I loved the way they stood basking in the sunshine, almost motionless among the rocks, disguising themeselves as pebbles.

I am not very good at bird recognition, but I was certainly able to pick out… lots of white ones and lots of black ones, and also some black and white ones.

It is not possible to take photos through a telescope, and not easy to record birds in flight whilst fumbling with binoculars and camera, and trying to untangle their neck straps!  But I fret if I don’t come away with something, so here are a few fragments:

sheep twitchers

 

 

 

rabbit droppings

 

 

pebblesturnstonessky, earth, life

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  
BRENT GEESE

How fantastic to be able to fly freely through the airwaves. I love the forms and lines that the flight takes through the sky – making life energy visible.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, North Devon, wildlife, animals and birds and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skern Birdwatching

  1. flandrumhill says:

    Love the sheep. I wish so much we had more of them in our landscapes here in Canada.

    I’ve never engaged in birdwatching except by myself or with at most, a couple members of my family. To do so in larger numbers seems such a civilized activity 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.