Stones and Blades of Grass

Flandrumhill has reminded me of something from the Resonance Project’s website:

“Instead of seeing ourselves as separate from everything around us, this view allows us to recognize that we are embedded in a fractal feedback dynamic that intrinsically connects all things via the medium of a vacuum structure of infinite potential.”

And that has reminded me of this :

 ‘Here all blades of grass and stones – all things – are one. This is the deepest depth, and thereby I am completely captivated.’ 

It is a quote from Meister Eckhart, the 13th centrury German mystic, and has underpinned my work for as long as I can remember…

gskycircleHere is a piece I made eleven years ago, called Gritstone Skycircle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

G Skycircle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eckhart also made a lot of other profoundly simple, profoundly memorable statements: see  http://www.ellopos.net/theology/eckhart.htm and many other sites. 

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Art, Environmental Art, science, spirituality/ peace, stone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stones and Blades of Grass

  1. paula says:

    ummm…thinking.

    Like

  2. What I would like to know is why does life have to be quite so complicated. Or maybe it is just a phase…

    Like

  3. paula says:

    I also love the Eckhart quotation and yes, your blue sky, green grass, earthstone circle is a deceptively simple, but strong vibrant visualisation…this has set the wheels in motion.

    Like

  4. flandrumhill says:

    I tried to respond earlier – but somehow lost the message I had started…

    The sky touching the earth in a circle. Wow! Love the Eckhart quotation, especially ‘the deepest depth.’ And as these things happen… your circle and post have connected to some other thoughts I’ve had lately. I’ll respond in a post this week. Thanks for inspiring 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.