Now Comes Earth Day

labyrinth here

Why do I keep having these ideas? And more to the point, why do I feel compelled to follow them through?

You may remember back in the winter, I wrote about searching for a good site to make a pebble labyrinth. I  found the ideal place, then banished it to a remote corner of my mind when I realised I would have to shift three tons of stone single-handed…

More recently, I was reminded that Earth Day was coming up, and took it into my head to do it NOW. I looked up the tides for the nearest Sunday (26th April), decided the timing was just perfect, and dashed off a notice to send to all my local chums. 

The response has been amazing! I am terribly pleased to be initiating something that inspires and grabs all of our imaginations. Now I am busy planning Plan B, in case dozens of people turn up. Of course, if there are rainstorms and wind all day, then no-one will come at all,  and I will just make the labyrinth on my own.

Here’s one I made with bricks on a Devon farm:altalab

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and this one I made in Northumberland:  

hglab

 

logspeople_lw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am ‘going with the flow’ as they say – it is not taking me anywhere near the work goals I have set myself, but it is a lot more fun.

 

Oh, I have just looked at my notice, and seen that I mentioned something about a follow-up workshop… 

 
 If you want to know the difference between Earth HOUR and Earth DAY… well, Earth HOUR is organised by World Wildlife Fund, and started in Australia in 2007. The idea is to switch off the lights for one hour, and  think about the effects of our energy use upon the planet.
The UNESCO Earth DAY is on the spring equinox (March 21st), though there is a second Earth Day, begun in 1970, on Apr 22 each year, designed to foster environmental awareness and appreciation.  (www.earthday.net).
 
Like I said, I shall be holding a small event on Apr 26th .

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in beach and coast, community, Devon, Earth, local, nature, North Devon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.