Not Forgetting… Labyrinth Day!

Just found out that the first International Labyrinth Day (organised by the Labyrinth Society) is set for Saturday, May 2nd. So I am cleverly missing both Earth Day and Labyrinth Day with my event! Or maybe, by coming halfway between the two, this is a classic British compromise.

a publicly/ anarchically maintained labyrinth at Sibley Park. Photo: AJ Alfieri-Crispin

a publicly/ anarchically maintained labyrinth at Sibley Park. Photo: AJ Alfieri-Crispin

Here’s what the Labyrinth Society has to say on ‘What is a Labyrinth?’
“A labyrinth is a single path or unicursal tool for personal, psychological and spiritual transformation. Labyrinths are thought to enhance right brain activity.”

Or maybe it is just fun!

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in labyrinths and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Forgetting… Labyrinth Day!

  1. paula says:

    I’m drawn to labyrinths – inextricably. Have you seen the one at Rocky Valley near Tintagel? I discovered one in Norwich Cathedral whilst visiting my son.
    I can’t get the scale of the one above – is it tiny or is it huge?

    Like

    • I dont know about the size of the labyrinth – I haven’t seen it in person! The photographer said he and his friends went back and climbed down there when the terrain was a bit less slippery and dangerous – so I got the idea it is quite large, say 3 -4 metres dia. But I could be wrong.
      Haven’t seen the Tintagel one either – but have seen pictures (if it is the one I am thinking of, carved into the rock face). Next Family Outing – definitely: it is not that far away!

      Like

  2. It’s innate: on the Friendly Beaches in far Tasmania, stones by the thousand. I made some little attempts in your stead, some ikebana, a fish out of the remains of a giant crab, etc, but the broken camera mashed them into fuzz.
    However all along the beach, little cairns, arranged piles, and stone messages abounded, and in fact an unusual, for Australia, grassy clifftop made it extremely Devonian. You’d love it.

    Like

    • Sounds lovely! It is very strange how people all over the world like to mark the landscape in this way. And regarding labyrinths in particular – I think these patterns must be hard-wired into our brains. Everyone I have spoken to has instantly responded to the idea of making one. They make me think of the human brain, and of Peter Randall-Page’s sculptures.

      Like

Comments are closed.