Crude and Stupid: Two Horror Movies for Earth Day

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “A Crude Awakening“, posted with vodpod
Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “The Age of Stupid: final trailer Feb …“, posted with vodpod

These films explore  two of the major issues of our era: dubbed Peak Oil and Climate Change. For two sane and sensitive responses to these horrors, I recommend the current Earth Day posts on Art Predator and Red Star Café.

My own sane (I hope) response, as I have said, is to invite local people to help me set out a large pebble labyrinth on the beach on Sunday.

“… Rain or shine, this event will go ahead.
Join Linda and help make the labyrinth. Bring your friends and relations. Bring a picnic. Bring your musical instruments. Bring cameras, camcorders or sketch books if you have them…

The labyrinth is a time-honoured way of relaxing the mind, and drawing attention to our immediate surroundings and our connection with the Earth. When the pebbles are all laid in place, we will be able to walk our individual paths to the centre of the labyrinth and back out again. The idea is to have fun, whilst giving us pause for reflection upon this beautiful coastal landscape that is our home.”

classical 7-track labyrinth

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in climate change, Earth, environment, labyrinths, local, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crude and Stupid: Two Horror Movies for Earth Day

  1. paula says:

    How did it go? I thought of you and walked with you and made with you. Ever since I can remember I’ve had a fascination for stones.
    I was lucky as in my travels as a child and teenager I came across some very special people who gave me stones. An exile Tibetan monk, a yogi, a Chinese seer and a RC priest were a few memorable ones – the last I’ve always been puzzled by – with his gift of stones he made a rosary for me on the ferry over to Capri.
    And I agree with flandrumhill…

    Like

    • It is terrific to know you were thinking of me as the labyrinth got made – thanks very much. Yes- it all went off very well – a very satisfying experience! I did one or two ‘hippy’ things like burying a penny at the central starting point as an offering to the Spirit of Place. As much as anything, that just got me into the right mindset. Not something I like to talk about really – so I thought I would just broadcast it over the Internet!
      I was amazed to hear that you were given stones by all those special people. it strikes me as incredibly significant, though light-years beyond my understanding. It just shows how important stones are to us.

      Like

  2. flandrumhill says:

    Oh Linda, I wish I could have participated in your labyrinth making. What a great way to engage people with one another and the earth.

    Your posts are always so inspiring, as are the comments left by your visitors.

    redstarcafe do you have any photos of your backyard’s transformation? I’ll have to visit your blog to see if you do. There are so many ways to make a garden beautiful. The western world is just beginning to appreciate the beauty of stone arrangements.

    The first time I read the story of The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Anderson, I was impressed with her idea of using stones to make her undersea garden in the shape of the sun. Her sisters had made theirs in the shapes of fish and other underwater creatures, but she was able to think outside the box (outside the sea actually) and create something otherworldly. This is what you do Linda and it’s wonderful 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks very much. I don’t feel very inspiring – most of the time I am just stumbling along hoping for the best! Whereas your blog and your connection with nature, is for me, very inspiring indeed.

      Like

  3. redstarcafe says:

    Linda, I bring you stones. They are tiny pieces of pea gravel, but they are as much of our biosphere as anything, and small cousins to grand menhirs. Their minerals become us, and we become part of them eventually.

    Last weekend, I raked and brushed the back yard which was converted last year from dying lawn to pea gravel, beach stones, and tumbled stone. I sifted through the rakings to retrieve the pea gravel and toss it, like starfish, back to where it belonged. The leaves will be recycled and, anyway, they will grow again shortly.

    The pea gravel, being stone, lives a much slower life, as you know, so it was necessary to retrieve and return it.

    Like

    • Thanks very much Jan – the stones worked their magic! I had not fully considered them in terms of the process of transformation from one form to another. That is very comforting, and of course reinforces what we all know – that all things are one. I tend to think of stones in some way as bearers of history, which maybe is one of the reasons why I frequently superimpose photographic imagery on them.
      Reading about your garden, I have a hankering to set out a Japanese- style raked gravel garden. I have a couple of great books on Zen gardens…. I was thinking of a virtual one, where we could all take turns in changing the patterns – but it is not quite the same, somehow…

      Like

Comments are closed.