White Horses

After some days of stormy weather I sat in the sun by the mud flats today, sketching. It’s a very long time since I have done this: I am not much of a one for a detailed ‘finished’ drawing. I prefer to catch the fleeting moment in some way or other – though I do find drawing a wonderful way of making notes and sharpening the observation.

On my way, I spent some time with the horses, whilst overhead a skylark sang non-stop.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, nature, North Devon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Horses

  1. Reggie says:

    Wow! Magical! I love watching horses… they have such interesting personalities, and I enjoy their interactions with each other.

    Do these ones just live in the ‘wild’ or do they actually belong to someone?

    Like

    • they are beautiful animals – privately owned. some of them belong to a local riding school . You are right – they all have distinct and interesting personalities, and seem very much at home there. Northam Burrows used to be common land, and the people of Northam had a right to graze their stock there. Nowadays people rent the grazing. lots of sheep too.

      Like

  2. Sian says:

    Are these the horses on the Burrows? Lovely images, thanks for sharing them!

    Like

    • oh yes – they are indeed. I had a blank week, and not only forgot to publish this post for several days, but got my images in reverse order. I was hoping to get it looking as though the horses were moving… but maybe next time!! They are very tame and friendly.

      Like

Comments are closed.