Today is World Environment Day

The UN World Environment Day was set up in 1972 to stimulate worldwide awareness of the environment and enhance political attention and public action.

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is also sponsoring a “Twitter for Trees” program, promising to plant a tree for every new follower at UNEPandYou on Twitter by today. There is still time to help them reach 10,000. Last time I looked it was 9,358!

 

Whatever one may think about all the hype concerning climate instability, global warming and other environmental issues, it’s for sure that special days like World Environment Day do remind us that we are  all interconnected. As Chief Seattle, the Native Americal Chief  is reported to have said: ”

“Man did not weave the web of life – he is merely a strand in it.
Whatever he does to the web, he does to himself.” Chief Seattle, 1854.

Links: Larry West’s article : Today is World Environment Day on About.com’s “Guide to Environmental Issues”.

United Nations Environment Programme http://www.unep.org/wed/2009/english/

mirrortothesky-031-300-wpToday I dropped off some work at the Broomhill Art Hotel, hidden in the steep, densely-wooded Devon hills. I wandered into the Sculpture Park, but but spent all my time sitting under the trees gazing into the sparkling stream.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in environment, nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today is World Environment Day

  1. Reggie says:

    I only saw this now, but found it so incredibly powerful. It brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for posting this. It makes one feel ashamed of humankind and the irreparable damage we have caused through our unthinking greed and insatiable hunger for power and control.

    Like

  2. flandrumhill says:

    I appreciate living in the country too. Nature is the great healer.

    Like

  3. flandrumhill says:

    We can’t possess the land. We can only care for it. Though I enjoyed watching the video it did make me feel sad because we’ve done such a poor job of caring for the land.

    Yesterday I was listening to John Denver sing ‘Rhymes and Reasons.’ He sang about the children and the flowers being our brothers and sisters (which reminded me of some of Chief Seattle’s words) and that ‘their laughter and their loveliness can clear a cloudy day…’

    The sparkling stream must have been such a refreshing sight. The world needs more places like that where people can just sit and be quiet so that they can feel renewed.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your comments, Flandrumhill. A lot I could say, but won’t! Last night I was browsing through Neil Astley’s anthology of eco-poems: “Earth Shattering”, and ended up feeling extremely sad. I am so grateful to be living here – and not in some concrete city tower-block – here, where I can still find places in nature to be still and silent. It is the only way I can cope.

      Like

Comments are closed.