Home and Away: Devon and Northumberland

It was fun to spend the weekend up in Northumberland – in the far north east, north of Hadrian’s Wall indeed, right at the opposite end of the country. a site visit for a project I am doing with Lucy for VARC in June. VARC is Visual Arts in Rural Communities. I was Artist-in-Residence there for one year during 2005-6 in this remote and sparsely-populated area of Highgreen, Tarset. An unforgettable experience. I took the opportunity to drop down deeply into the landscape, exploring levels of silence I never knew existed (or had forgotten); working through concepts for earth-related work, and implementing some large-scale installations that I would never otherwise have had the time and space to complete. You can read all about my Highgreen experience on the residency page of my site: http://www.lindagordon.org.uk/ .
It is a great project we are on now: making work to celebrate VARC’s 10th anniversary during the first week of June. Unfortunately, it could not be at a much worse time for me, as it comes immediately before my AONB Art Walks begin here in Devon. No easy mobile or internet access at Highgreen either… Will just have to get my husband to deputise for me with the Walks preparations. He won’t mind…
Lucy and I spent a lot of time poking long sticks into mole-hills and photographing them. Here is a couple of Lucy’s Photoshop visualisations. What on earth are we doing, you might well ask… well, in due course you will see our finished installation on this blog. Patience…

 

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Art, landscape, place and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.