The Burrows

Meanwhile, back in Devon, there has been endless endless endless planning and preparation, and endless work on the computer… this is all I seem to be doing these days – that, and fretting about all the studying I should be doing for my MA Arts and Ecology. It was good to be at Highgreen, feeling I was doing what I call my ‘real’ work – even if only for a day or so.
However, I have been out on Northam Burrows a few times – and that was very nice. Getting photographed, and trying out routes and ideas for the proposed walks.
“Today, I walked at the top end of Burrows – past the salt marsh, mud flats, the grey sand hill and the pebble bank and rock pools just off the coast. I love the bubbling chirrup of the skylark high up following me – occasionally joined by the soft song of the curlew. Working out the content and the timing of the walks is tricky, and I am surprised how little I know the terrain. And I am alarmed at the distance back to the Burrows Centre from the sand hill – must find a short cut tomorrow.”

Tomorrow came and I hit a snag. Quite literally – for, trying to find a short cut across the Burrows, to save people’s legs, I found myself hopelessly trapped in a vast jungle of brambles, marram grass, nettles and goodness knows what else… for ONE HOUR. All the more frustrating because I could clearly see my destination with every turn. OK, so the brambles were not very high – but still nasty, plus they ruined my only decent pair of jeans…

Linda in the thicket.
So I am having to re-route my walks – and that means working out different activities and timing. This is fun to do – I am having many good new ideas for the workshops.
And I have heard that I have funding from the AONB. I am delighted to have this opportunity to realise the project. I hope I can pull it off.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Arts & Ecology, nature, place and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.