sky, stone, sand, sea

Second walk, June 18th – it was another sunny day – hotter than last time. The atmosphere was slightly hazy, and the breeze from the west was softer, warmer. Each time I come I am becoming more aware of these subtle differences in the quality of air. I feel I am regaining forgotten skills and sensitivities.
Meandering around the coastline, getting a sense of the sky and the ground under our feet – our feet awakening and responding to the terrain – grass, gravel, soft dry sand, large shifting pebbles and firm flat beach – even through the thick soles of our shoes.

I am surprised too, how every time I come here, I notice completely different things. Last time, in the midst of this wide-open landscape, it was tiny flowers and bright coloured moths – this time, walking along the beach I was strongly drawn to the eroded cliff edges of the dunes – their tops piled high with precariously balanced grey pebbles.
I changed the routine a little, allowing more time for creative activity. Everyone was able to work in their favourite way, as well as try out new ways of experiencing and responding to the surroundings. And I remembered to factor in a refreshment break at the halfway point!
Asked what they had enjoyed the most, people replied: The quiet sounds of nature. Walking slowly across different terrains. Being present, using all the senses.

Essential Nature: ArtWalking in North Devon

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in beach and coast, Walking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.