First Artwalk

Hartland Quay, North Devon. I told everyone to expect sun, rain, ferocious Atlantic winds, mud, salt spray. And to round it all off at 1pm … delicious hot soup from the hotel.

As it turned out, I got everything (except the soup) wrong – including misreading the Tide Table as high tide instead of low tide! We discovered a pristine and almost deserted sandy beach, protected by dramatic cliffs. And the wind had veered to the east, blowing gently from inland rather than from across the Atlantic. It was so mild, I just lounged about on the rocks with no coat on, taking the occasional photograph. Nothing like a good hearty walk, I thought,  to get the blood circulating and work up an appetite!

Next walk: Rockham Bay near Mortehoe. 4th December, 10.30 am. I have never been there before, so I cannot tell you what it is like…

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, ESSENTIAL NATURE art walks, North Devon, Walking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.