low tide

Early in April we visited Fremington Quay near Barnstaple. Fremington used to be a thriving port and was the home of the famous Fishley Pottery. The geology here is amazing, with many coloured earth pigments in layers on the cliff face. Here’s Anne’s finger painting made directly with the cliff pigments on site during our visit.

Today it is a tranquil and relaxing place for enjoying the open air. There were few other people about during our visit.
Positioning herself on the rocky headland by the old derelict lime kilns, Michelle carried out an impromptu sequence of body movement as the tide eased itself outwards and the sun travelled inexorably across the sky. It seemed to me that she was holding the place and the experience of this place for us, as we drifted to and fro around the cliffs, exploring, dreaming. Indeed, as part of her process, she erected a small stone cairn to mark the occasion, a point of stillness amongst all the movement.

I, unfortunately, forgot to bring my camera, so have no pictures to show! Though I did a couple of rough sketches, and collected some pieces of different coloured rock to play around with at home. These are now sitting happily in a plastic bag in the garden shed, along with all my other ‘treasures’.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, ESSENTIAL NATURE art walks, North Devon, place, Walking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to low tide

  1. I will do it, yes I will! And you will be the first to see the results. Thanks for your always welcome comments – even tho I am so erratic a blogger these days.

    Like

  2. Such nice colors in the local pigments…I could see you doing something with them.

    Like

Comments are closed.