The Enchanted Wood

Pep-P1150870w

I am walking down the steep-sided valley through dense tangled trees towards the beach at Peppercombe…

Strange how my strongest impression is one of silence, when all around me is sound: the distant sea roar, the wind playing in the high canopy and around my ears, the squelch of mud and rustling of dry leaves underfoot.

I come to an old thatched cottage, and wonder if it is made of gingerbread. I am attracted by the sound of trickling water, and look down over the little stone bridge, down through the ferns, to see a stream running and sparkling over roots and stones. A woodpecker drills a nearby branch, rapping out a drumbeat that echoes throughout the entire valley.

Pep-Image0415w

Pep-Image0404_w

Great moss covered branches block my path, making me stoop low as I proceed.

Pep-P1150866_w

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Devon, nature, North Devon, trees and woodland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.