Birds in the Bush

birdinthebush-edWell, I woke up in the morning; the sun was shining and the birds were singing, so I made a rush for the secateurs in order to ‘tidy up’ the garden. Mistake! After hours of snipping and tweaking at our heavily overgrown clematis arch, I ended up with a large heap of dead (I think) twigs on the ground, but not very much on top! That is, the arch now resembled a small haystack on top of some bare metal supports –but at least it was tidy! I hoped I had not killed it.

Life is just not fair. Next day, I woke up in the morning; the sun was shining, and there were all the neighbourhood sparrows having a great time, prancing about on top of the arch, and pulling out all the newly exposed twigs for their nests.

Why did they not just grab the stuff I had chopped off the previous day?

birdinbush3_ed

I am sure I did not leave it looking like this…

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in nature, wildlife, animals and birds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.