Thomas Köner – Novaya Zemlya 1

Somehow the sound gives form to the utter silence.

I feel the depths of my heart beginning to crack like thick ice, and the faintest stirrings of memory.

My attention is gripped by the simplicity of the screen image.  Aeons of frozen tears almost obliterate a distant icy landscape.  I am frozen in time, and the landscape is out of reach.  There appears to be a rope, or maybe it is barbed wire, stretching across the foreground of this image. Then I lose interest and drift away.

Now that it is all over, the familiar sounds of my room have taken on a living presence. There is the computer… and there is another low sound, that I have never noticed before, and I cannot quite place where it is coming from – yet it must have been there all along.

I  came across Novaya Zemlya quite recently on “Some Landscapes”, the wonderful blog about landscapes and the arts,  by Plinius (Andrew Ray).  The complete album is available through Touch (www.touchmusic.org.uk), and there are also a number of Thomas Köner’s tracks on Youtube.

I read quite a bit about the work after hearing it for the first time (there are actually three tracks in all), and found it well worth the enquiry. Novaya Zemlya, I discovered, is a bleak and desolate area of Northern Siberia, close to the Arctic wastes. And there is  a very interesting review in The Liminal  of  this evocative and profoundly chilling piece.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in nature, Performing Arts/ music/ sound/ film/ literature...., place and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thomas Köner – Novaya Zemlya 1

  1. Here you are! I’ve missed catching up with you and your wonderful walks. Thanks for posting this Siberian video.

    Like

    • Hello, thanks so much for coming along. I have been browsing your blog, and now, after my Siberian ‘winter of discontent’ have been inspired to put on my thermals tomorrow, and go out exploring… Still wet and muddy here after plenty of flooding, though your situation looks much worse.

      Like

Comments are closed.