A Relaxing Summer’s Morning at the Burrows

When I arrived, this morning, which was not that early, it was already hot. Not many people, just a few families with their gaily coloured beach umbrellas and screens… everyone happily engaged relaxing, strolling, doing their own thing, a few children, a couple of well-behaved dogs.

nburrows-holidaybeach-wp-140725-003
The tide was out seemingly miles away, beyond a vast expanse of clean flat sand.

As time went on, more people gradually appeared on the scene, although it still had the sense of emptiness, spaciousness, expansiveness.
Northam Burrows beach - Holiday time!

 

It was not long before a couple of noisy women, accompanied by a boy of about seven or eight years, and a dog, came strolling by.  As I was sitting quietly alone, just where the pebbles meet the sand, naturally the dog made a beeline for me, shoved its wet mouth and soggy ball against my arm and remained motionless. I am used to this sort of thing round here, so I pointedly ignored it. There was a time when I would have expected the women to call the dog away, but I knew they wouldn’t.

I have learned through my meditation practice that it is wisest to allow people (and dogs) to be the way they are, so decided to test this out and keep my peace – until I realised the boy was right up against my back, and was using me to steady himself as he slightly stumbled…

I said “Oh, for God’s sake..!” The boy said “What do you mean?” and the little group continued on their merry way along the beach. But not before the dog had pee’ed on the stone where I was resting my feet!

I felt quite proud of my self-control, and somewhat ‘holy’… so I determined to write about them all when I got home.

 

The moral of this story is: that if you keep calm under provocation, you might at least end up with a decent blog post….

nburrows-holidaybeach-wp-140725-001-3

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in beach and coast, Devon, North Devon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.