A Short Clifftop Walk

Strolling along the Southwest Coast Path from Westward Ho!, I wasn’t sure whether it was going to rain or not.

from Westward Ho!

Neither were the cows, for some were standing up and others lying down.

swcoastpath w-ho-140809-009-Ed-002

 

I didn’t take many photos, as I had already recorded quite a lot here before – and then I came across this stuff…

swcoastpath w-ho-140809-007-Ed-001

Apparently it is called Dodder, a parasitic plant that lives entirely off its host.

swcoastpath w-ho-140809-006-Ed-001

There was a sudden short heavy rainstorm, and I turned back the way I had come, with wet jeans clinging to my legs, and nursing the blisters on the palm of my hand that I got from the prickly gorse.

 

 

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in landscape, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Short Clifftop Walk

  1. Hi Linda…I have never heard of this parasitic plant before. Does it eventually kill its host and is it native to your country?

    Like

Comments are closed.