After the Winter of Discontent comes the Promise of Spring

Reaching my favourite sheltered spot, I sit in the sun, gazing southwards across the river, whilst all around me woodland birds are singing…

… joyfully oblivious to the dull roar of traffic over the bridge, and the ever-present threat of invasive building development.

Finches, bluetits, chiffchaff, robin, wood pidgeon, great spotted woodpecker,  rooks – and further away over the river, curlew, gulls, and ducks – and many, many more.  Even though I am no naturalist, I was easily able to recognise and enjoy their distinctive voices.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in nature, seasons and cycles, wildlife, animals and birds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.