Day and Night: dreaming of Springtime

Another bright, beautiful and somewhat chilly day..

Today, instead of primroses, on either side of me there were bluebells all the way up the track.  The primroses were still there, but they were gradually dying down, and being replaced by the rising bluebells.

BucksVW-bluebells-020

I walked up the track, accompanied by the sounds of birdsong high up in the trees and a steep-sided stream rushing down over the stones. Once a fat bumble bee crossed my path… and a small camera-shy primrose-coloured butterfly.

I continue to be astonished by the speed at which changes such as these are taking place right before my eyes. Woodland ferns springing up and uncurling their violin handles, sunlight filtering through the trees, through new leaves that certainly weren’t there yesterday..

bucksvw-apr15_lindagordon_011

BucksVW-ferns-012-3

And when I spend some time staying quietly in one place, I have noticed how quickly the shadows of the trees move across the land, bringing my awareness to the vast unending movement of life and the fact that I am a part of it all.

I had come to suss out the potential of of the place for new work. Nearby, I noticed a recent ephemeral piece that was still more or less as I’d left it – even down to the two halves of a hazelnut shell, that I imagine was left by a passing squirrel.

bluebells-036-2

deadwood-bluebells-001

cycles of birth and death

 

3.30am and I cannot sleep. My mind is in chaos. I get up, go downstairs, make myself some Horlicks. I know there is no point in trying to sleep, so make myself comfortable with pillows, Horlicks and cosy shawl, then settle down to a bit of meditation.  After this, I can’t be bothered to get out of bed. I see daylight beginning to creep through the curtains. I throw a pillow across the room to land on a chair, but miss. Then I throw the shawl on to a pile of clothes – but miss. Then I fall asleep and dream in vivid technicolor  of my small grandson’s pet budgerigar flying about with a mate in a sunny springtime garden.

Woke late.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Art, Arts & Ecology, nature, photography, trees and woodland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

LEAVE A REPLY

