Chapel Wood – another Essential Nature Walk

Linda Gordon Essential Nature group walk at Chapel Wood

A few days ago, our Essential Nature group visited Chapel Wood, a beautiful area of mostly broadleaf woodland, which is an RSPB Nature Reserve, and within the North Devon Coast AONB (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty).

Chapel wood essential Nature walk led by Linda Gordon

From the first moment, and throughout the woods we sensed a pervading atmosphere of the ancient past. A steep slope, led us upwards, through the old twisted mossy trees, and up to the site of an Iron Age hillfort. As far as I could see, there was no immediately visible sign of the fort, but I was aware of its presence.

Devon

chapelwood_lindagordon_150911_0001_LR-3
Chapel Wood Essential Nature walk led by Linda Gordon

 

photo © movement artist Michelle Wilkinson

We explored slowly and quietly… wandering, walking, dreaming, talking – and whatever else took our fancy, such as movement, writing, sketching or photography… enjoying the tangled twisty branches and foliage, and the plants and weird exotic fungi to be seen at this time of year… From time to time, we heard the occasional cry of a buzzard. Senses sharpened as we walked through the shadowy trees.

CHAPEL WOOD

Beech, fern, holly mantle shrouds me from above

My body is held in the rich dry earth

Of fallen gold leaves, blackened seeds and damp decaying bark

My head leads my spine in undulations

My limbs reach out similar to branches spreading to the light

A continual whisper of breeze in the trees

Sound and movement vibrations go hand in hand

And I am stirred from my slumber, serenely becoming vertical

My heart opens, rippling through my arms to the green foliage sky

In this hidden wood world

I am brought into my soft expansive self

And leave little trace as I glow from inside out

11.9.15
Michelle Wilkinson

 

chapelwoodmichellewilkinson_150910_0001_LR                     photo © Michelle Wilkinson

Reaching the bottom again, we rested by a fresh running stream, and the stone ruins of a small Chapel dating from around 1270, which had also housed a solitary priest.

chapelwoodlindagordon_121106_0001_LR

Just outside the chapel was a sparkling well. Gazing into its crystal clear depths, it seemed to reflect the whole of the world.

chapelwood_lindagordon_150911_0003_LR-2

As always, all photos on this post are © myself, Linda Gordon, unless otherwise credited.      I am happy to share images and info whenever possible. Please feel free to ask!

Essential Nature walks are based around the beautiful North Devon coastal area of England. They are casual, free-flowing explorations for all arts and nature enthusiasts. Two more woodland walks are coming up in Oct and Nov. Contact me to find out more.

chapelwood_lindagordon_150911_0002_LR-2

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in ESSENTIAL NATURE art walks, nature, North Devon, trees and woodland, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapel Wood – another Essential Nature Walk

  1. alex123go says:

    I like the views of this ancient, moving place.

    Like

LEAVE A REPLY

