Arrival at the Cabin

Here’s a very short extract from the notes and jottings that I have been keeping daily during my time at the Cabin.  This is my first day, my first moments in situ.

Since then my experiences and impressions of the place have been intense and fascinating – and I will post more extracts when I can manage to pull all my notes together!

Mon 18th- settling in

I turned the key in the lock, pushed open the door And felt relief, as a sense of “home” washed over me

Scented with a faint musty aroma.
Even though I was aware of stepping into a place of arrested disintegration,
the sense of home persisted.

It felt like stepping into a hidden time capsule: fixed in a past era.
Yet homeliness prevailed.

I set about getting organised:  it took me longer to settle in than I had anticipated.

To begin with, it was a little un-nerving,
hearing unusual sounds outside (people, families passing
Occasionally some would wander into the garden or push at the door.


 

the Cabin, Bucks Mills, North Devon. artist Linda Gordon

 

Sitting at the table,

I pondered upon thoughts of Time and Home…

I pushed open the little window

And allowed the slow rhythm of the ocean

To fill the room

Timeless

 

Upstairs I found a beautiful butterfly, obviously just dead, lying on the floor.

the Cabin, Bucks Mills, North Devon - resident artist Linda Gordon

 

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Artists, place and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arrival at the Cabin

  1. Hazel Pye says:

    Sounds wonderful enjoy xx

    ________________________________

    Like

LEAVE A REPLY

