Looking Back: Little Views

The Cabin, Bucks Mills, North Devon

The Cabin, Bucks Mills, North Devon.

For this artist’s residency, having no specific outcome required of me, I was able to respond and explore the Cabin and its surroundings in depth – recording my findings with written notes, quick sketches, photographs  and some small, short-lived  land art pieces – the beginnings of future developments.

Some of the pictures have captions. If you click on the thumbnails below, you can read the captions in full – as well as seeing bigger pictures.

THE ARRIVAL

 

THE BEACH

Seaweed, rocks, limpets, water, sky:  I  like to collaborate with nature, so that it is sometimes difficult to distinguish between nature’s expression and my own.

 

AROUND THE CABIN

 

INTERIOR

 As you see, I was slowly becoming merged with the place.

 

THE WOODS

More about the Cabin can be seen on my two most recent posts, and on Time Present and Time Past, written a few years ago. 

Linda-at-Cabin_lindagordon_160729_0001_LR

Me outside the Cabin door.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Arts & Ecology, beach and coast, nature, North Devon, place, trees and woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Back: Little Views

  1. Suzanne says:

    I love the environmental art you created, particularly the ones made from stones.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much Sydney for your encouraging comment! I gained huge insights into the nature of this place, and a strong sense of being caught up in endless stories. I have tons of notes written, and it is all going to take a long time for me to digest!

    Like

  3. sydney says:

    What a magical place. I am reminded of spending time on the west coast of Newfoundland, exploring the shoreline, and making small works there – the first gestures in a dialogue with a place unfamiliar to me. There’s a real conversation between you, the cabin, and the shore & woods that develops in these photos. Looks like you had a fantastic time!

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

