Fleeting Moments in the October Woods

Arriving in Bucks Valley Woods, I switch off the car engine, and relax. Each time I come here, I notice changes. It all seems to happen so quickly. Particularly at this time of year, the autumn season, it seems even more noticeable. I have been trying to record the changes in leaf colour with photography over the last couple of months, but it hasn’t worked out very well. It doesn’t do justice to the subtle,  infinitely complex movement of life.

foliage_lindagordon_160826_0001_lr

Bucks Valley Woods

Here’s a couple of the photos taken two weeks apart (back on 26 Aug and 8 Sep). Probably the differences can mostly be put down to differing light conditions, though it is possible to see the more exposed branches and twigs in the second photo.

I have watched the changing weather and clouds moving across the sky, and felt the warm summer air give way to a new chill wafting through the trees. Every now and then, a gust of wind up high sends a flurry of leaves floating down around me like snow. Wasn’t able to photograph this very well either!

In September, I enjoyed wading in the stream amidst bright sunlight and shifting  shadow. I made a few small land art pieces with the stones strewn along its length, and would have made more, but the water level suddenly rose after a couple of rainy days, coming well above the height of my boots. I didn’t fancy this very much.

Beyond the steep hillside I was amazed how the sun appeared to take a lower and lower arc every day. Sometimes it disappeared behind dense woodland and emerged somewhere different an hour or two later. It was almost impossible to forecast where shadows and light would fall from one day to the next – or even from one hour to the next.

Bucks Valley Woods

So I was fortunate the sun appeared in a gap between the trees, just as I was photographing the work shown above – throwing a vivid green reflection down from the trees above, right down into its centre.

This month, October, I found scattered Rowan berries along the path. I put them in a little bag, whilst I decided what to do with them. Next day, I found a lot of them had gone brown. Oh no! I hurried to one of my favourite making spots and  assembled this bright little piece with the best ones. Then I hurried back to the place I’d found them, where luckily I found some more berries had fallen – and was able to complete the work.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It sometimes feels weird to think that not many years ago, I was making massive outdoor sculptural installations requiring diggers and fork lift trucks. Nowadays I seem to have gone to the opposite extreme – in terms of scale, at any rate. I tell myself it is because I am at a different point in my life cycle, though really I haven’t a clue what is going on.

Round about where I made the Rowan piece, I noticed hundreds of spiky little Sweet Chestnut seed cases, falling down all around with a thud. Walking up the track a little, I noticed  hundreds more lying on the ground. Of course, I had to pick them up and put them into bags…

I carried a load around with me literally for hours, without finding the ideal place to make anything. I did not want to go too far away from the place where I had found them.

Next day, fed up with wandering, I decided there was nothing for it but to make a large circle, which I placed right in the middle of the wide woodland track, and where I could get a good photo viewpoint.  I made an impromptu broom with twigs, and swept chestnut tree leaves all around it – decided it looked rubbish, and swept them all back where they had come from.

I wasn’t too sure about this piece of work, and that night as I lay in bed, I decided it was too intrusive. So I came back the next day with my daughter’s dog, and swept it all away.

But I did take a couple of photos…

oct16_lindagordon_161013_0004_lr

My working processes are about this place, and the fleeting ever-changing nature of life and its seasons. What remains here in the woods, always, is the pervading sound of water rushing over stone, and the wind rustling the leaves high up in the trees.

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Environmental Art, nature, North Devon, photography, seasons and cycles, trees and woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fleeting Moments in the October Woods

  1. I too have come to a place in my life where I don’t need to make a big public statement with my work. I really just like going on my journey creating not so big pieces. The delight and comfort I get in just the doing it is fullfilling And oh how good it would be if someone chanced upon this beautiful creation out there in the woods.

    Like

    • Thank you – it is so good to hear you have similar views! I was told recently that a visitor to the woods came across my ‘Rowan’ piece, and thought it had been made by the wildlife. That was nice.

      Like

  2. VocareMentor says:

    The stone/water art and your photos of them are wonderful – simple creative inspirations.

    Like

  3. sydney says:

    Perhaps you reveal some of the motivation for the shift in your work to this intimate scale in what you say about it. You mentioned that the chestnut piece you tried felt too ‘intrusive,’ and that your work is about the change and ephemerality you see in this specific place. Diggers and forklift trucks speak to a completely different relationship to the land; and a very different sensibility toward ‘what remains’ in the woods after we walk home.

    Like

    • Hello Sydney – thanks so much for your thought and consideration to my comment about how my work has changed over the years. I really appreciate it! It has caused me to reflect a bit more deeply about what I regard as a sort of evolution, rather than just leave it as a passing curiosity. I will think on it some more, and maybe get it into writing for myself. Thanks very much, once again!

      Like

LEAVE A REPLY

