New Work on its Way

I have started a new piece of work – sparked off by some photos of branches against blue sky that I took in the woods last week. I seem to be returning to an old  theme of mine: that life is  all one.

I have often made symbolic connections between earth and sky, as a way of suggesting this unity – and looking through my old photos of previous projects, I have surprised myself to see just how often this earth/sky preoccupation has cropped up over the years.

Here’s a few of those previous works that you might like. Different places, different times, same theme.

My new piece is planned for Bucks Valley Woods. It feels important to start making it right now – so that it is not just about the woods – but it is time-specific too. The branches are still bare, but new green leaves are just about to burst forth. Spring is definitely on its way. And if I made it in a few months’ time, the work would just be about a memory: not about life here and now.

So I figured out the practicalities, sent off for a new cartridge for my printer, and spent a happy afternoon today, cutting up paper. I am using whatever I have to hand: paper of the right weight, left over from a previous project; and old brown paper packaging that I couldn’t bear to throw away, for the supporting underlay.

I like that my materials are all recycled, because… well, that is the nature of life. And I like that they are all derived from trees. However, I don’t yet know whether the work will be any good when I have actually finished it…

I will keep you posted!

About throughstones

I am primarily a visual artist, living on the North Devon coast, a beautiful semi-rural area in South West England. I am interested in full engagement with 'place' and the eternal movement of life - particularly as it relates to what we call 'the natural environment'.
This entry was posted in Sculpture and installation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Work on its Way

  1. sydney says:

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!!

    Like

    • Hi Nina – this seems to be one of those phases when everything is more awkward than I’d anticipated. Haven’t been able to get on with this paper artwork in the woods because of rain and mud, so have been alternating between thinking up some sort of waterproof substrate, and struggling with updating my website (just as awkward)!

      Like

    • Hello Sydney – Yes – I would like to see that too! For a simple idea for a small piece of work, progress is extremely slow, in fact, ground to a halt (temporarily), Mainly the wind and rain, which is keeping me indoors. I can see why Any Goldsworthy doesn’t use paper in the landscape..

      Like

  2. Nina Fenner says:

    Looking forward to seeing what you do next, always very inspiring.

    Like

  3. Suzanne says:

    Your work is very beautiful and inspiring. Good luck with your new project.

    Like

LEAVE A REPLY

